• Uncategorized
  • 0

Glen Robinson III vs. Derrick Jones Jr. Slam Dunk Final Score


Glen Robinson III 94
Derrick Jones Jr. 87

With absence of defending slam dunk champion Zach Lavine and competing despite his injury Aaron Gordon, the recently concluded 2017 NBA Slam Dunk Contest on Saturday presented a new winner. Indiana Pacers forward Glenn Robinson III won the award and defeated Derrick Jones Jr. of the Phoenix Suns in the final round.

Both contestants have close scores before the final, but Robinson garnered a total score of 94 points to win the competition. Jones however collected a total score of 87 points and his low score of 37 in the final dunk on the first round made a huge turn around in the last round.

The final dunk of Robinson involved a cheerleader of the Pacers, teammate Paul George and the mascot of their team. He jumped over the three people, grabbing the ball and finished a tremendous 2-handed reverse dunk to convince the judges who gave him a perfect score of 50 points.

Besides Robinson and Jones, the other competitors include Los Angeles Clippers center DeAndre Jordan and last year’s slam-dunk runner up Aaron Gordon from the Orlando Magic. However, Gordon did not come out with his usual stunning dunks because of his injured foot.

Although both finalists are new faces in this annual dunking contest in the NBA, some observers think that the competition in 2016 is more exciting.


Credit images: Photo owners

You may also like...

Leave a Reply